25 June 2006

it puts the lotion on it's skin, or else it gets the hose again

Man, Silence of the Lambs is on TV - I feel like it's on every weekend and now whenever I watch it, I get that song stuck in my head, the one about putting lotion on it's skin and so on and so forth.

Anyway, kind of have neglected this blog seeing as, well, I dunno, I guess I got paranoid but meh, I'm beyond caring - I just need to be able to write this stuff down and I don't have a journal these days (having one online saves physical space).

Not too much has happened - apart form Capping Show. Which took over my life.

Still working at the Cock and Bull - last night we had all the league boys come in (the cock and bull sponsors their team and they come down to the pub to drink most saturdays) and it was far more entertaining than just having the locals around. Th previous evening I'd had spots with one of the locals - John, and had gotten a bit weirded out as to why I was hanging out with him and what his intentions were.

Ha, he came in the next night and cos I was still wigged out from getting baked with him, I was really cold and avoided him a lot. So he was pissy. I felt like a bit of a bitch - especially seeing I was mainly hanging out with the league boys, and chatting to their rather tall, dark, and handsome captain which was obviously getting to him but eh...nothing will ever happen with John cos I don't feel "that way" towards him and he's a good 11 years older than me.

But the captain...well, he asked for my number as they were headed into town and blushing like a school girl instead of the sassy bar-bitch I normally am, I gave it to him. Which lead to an evening of dancing at ridiculous bars until 6am with a big bunch of island boys who were hilariously cheeky and fun. They really look out for one another and are all about just laughing and having a good night "no problems eh?". Anyway, he walked me home and we made out. Yuss.

Mmm, I'm off snowboarding tomorrow so I won't see him for two weeks but who knows, he is really cute...

04 May 2006

The beginning of the tearoom-eatfest images


24 April 2006

No more holiday, waaaaaah!

Well, that was one fucking short holiday. Went to Auckland for, what, five days? Saw Sigur Ros who were amazing and toooootally overate the entire time I was there.

Reeeeeally (the really sounds strained, as though you're trying to do a poo but are too backed-up) wanted to buy everything in every single vintage shop that they had - refrained for my finance's sake.

Met some cool kids, possibly too cool as they mainly scared me with their scene-ness - so scene I thought it was a joke at first then I realised that most kids in Auckland dress as though they're super indie/emo even if they really listen to Girls Aloud and Pussycatdolls when they're at home *slaps forehead in disgust. So it kind of is a joke, but not one that they're in on.

Drove from Christchurch to Dunedin with Leigh who kept threatening to hit me in the face with a cream bun if I durst fall asleep. We had a little screaming fit about it and then I was allowed (finally) to get some sleep. BUT, before I fell asleep we had a fantastic time stopping at every second or third tearoom/bakery and indulging in baked goods of some description, photographing them (and us) and then rating the food and the ambience of the place before continuing. I felt ridiculously ill by the time we hit Timaru but luckily, by then, all the bakeries and tearooms were shutting and I could digest all the fatty carbs that had just been consumed in peace.

I'll post some photos soooon.

Dunedin has been ok since getting back. Except for the fact that I got a C for a theatre thing, had a big wah in the toilets about how undeserved it was and then got angry and thought "fuck you Allen Hall, right up your big, fat arse" and decided to change from a theatre major to a theatre minor so that I could be out of there faster.

And I had a 4am chat with Moana in the hallway. He apologised but kept trying to turn it around on me saying "that he thought I hated him and was trying to avoid him ever since Dave moved out, so, surely I could understand where he was coming from??"

NO - IT WAS COMPLETELY RUDE AND UNJUSTIFIABLE OF YOU TO WRITE ME A HATE NOTE BECAUSE I WAS BUSY AND AWAY FROM THE FLAT - YOU JUMPED TO ASSUMPTIONS, I DON'T HATE YOU, JUST THINK YOU'RE A WHINY ARSE.

"yeah, ok, but you're never heeeeeere (use a whiny voice)"

BECAUSE I'M BUSY - FOR THE PAST MONTH OR SO I'VE BEEN DOING UNI, PULLING ALL-NIGHTERS FOR DESIGN AND SO ON, WORKING AT A SHIT JOB, REHEARSING FOR CAPPING SHOW, REHEARSING FOR LUNCHTIME THEATRE AND SEEING MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY ON A REGULAR BASIS.

"yeah, ok, but couldn't you like, tell us?"

TELL YOU WHAT??

"about how busy you are, about what you're up to... just tell us"

I'M A BUSY BUSY PERSON, I DON'T HAVE TIME TO TELL YOU HOW BUSY I AM! IF I SEE YOU FROM NOW ON I PROMISE I'LL MAKE IT CLEAR TO YOU THAT I CAN'T "hang with the flatties" BECAUSE I'M EITHER A) BUSY OR B) ABOUT TO SLEEP/HANG OUT WITH PEOPLE I LIKE.

Except, I was nicer and didn't actually yell. So it's sorted now - I still think he's a freaking idiot but at least we're on civil terms and I don't think there'll be any more hate notes shoved under my door. But, quite unnervingly, he carried on about how hurt his feelings were when I didn't hang with him, and how he thought we could be "good flatmates and friends" because I was cool and had decorated the lounge really well (urghhhhh) and was really smart and funny and how he wished I would smile more... kinda creeped me out. Maybe he meant it totally innnocuously and was really just trying to be a nice person but I keep coming back to:

I HATE YOU LUCI, LUV MOANA

Kinda weird right?

10 April 2006

room rearranger

just rearranged my room.

at 1am.

probably woke up my flatmate.

i am awesome.

09 April 2006

Booze hag

I am actually an alcoholic.

How proud my dead grandma would be of me that I am following in her footsteps.

I am actually fucking my life up becuase of how much and how often I am drinking. Wank. But the really dumb thing is that I don't care that much - I'm having too much fun destroying everything I've worked towards achieving. Yuss.

Also, went to a nudie bar last night which was hilarious. Especially as we chased it with a solid session of kareoke at vivace straight afterwards. Awesome.

Tonight was Gorgeous Will's 21st birthday party at metro - was pretty rad as they'd invited a fuckload of musicians who all jammed together... a whole heap of african drumming kids, more or less all of the vibrasics, and all the retrophonicfunkmachine dudes. It was amazing.

I came to the really dumb realisation that I was incredibly enamoured with one of my friends though. Which is sucky as he not only has an out-of-town girlfriend and possibly has a little something something going on with one of my casual friends...but he flirts with me OUTRAGEOUSLY (say it in a french accent, sounds better) and is ridiculously cute and funny and has awesome shaggy hair and ZRAH! Poos. he's taken and it's silly to even be moping about it.

I'll be in Auckland in a week.

My life is running away with me. I always take on too much stuff for me to actually be able to deal with. Like capping show, which is awesome, but all-consuming.

My flatmate scares me shitless.

I came home really late one night to pick up a bottle of wine with Wal and Moana came home and glowered at Wal before storming into the bathroom. We were about to leave when I heard the bathroom door open and close a multitude of times in quick succession - went to check it out and Moana was sitting on the washing machine, opening and closing the door, staring at me really intensely. I asked him "hey man, what the fuck are you doing?" and he didn't even reply - just kept openign and closing the door, staring at me reallly intently and creepily. So I laughed and said "ooooo-k, I'm going to go now" and left.

Came home at 5am and went to bed - woke up mid-afternoon and found a note shoved under my door in really scrawled, childish letters saying

"i hate you luci, luv moana"

FUCKING CUNT.

He left a not on my door the night after saying "hey luci, I'm really sorry about the note. I was really drunk, I promise it'll never happen again" BUT WHATEVS! If you write someone a note like that, even if you're really boozed, it shows you have some serious problems - and not just with the person that the note is being written for.

So I'm thinking of moving out. Maybe. Dad has said that I am more than welcome to move home while I flathunt but I'm just concerned that if I move out, it's sending Moana the message that he's won - that what he did was ultimately a good thing because he'd be getting what he wanted. That asshole should be the one to move out.

Du-m-b. Now it's 5am and I need to walk home.

17 March 2006

photo post * now with titles! *

Me with a big lipstick pash mark on my neck from Lisa who was leaving town and wanted to make her mark on me. How territorial!



Leigh. Dancing by herseh-helf! The two of us (JUST the two of us) rocked vivace hard.



Ryan in the burns computer lab (we needed somewhere warm to drink wine and had not yet considered the critic office to be an option...)



Bex and Wal at Monday Night Kareoke at the Bowler. Having a wah because we miss Superjohn. WAH!



Casey and Adam. First day back at school. Last day of sunshine.



Scrabble - check. Pink furry rug - check. Lemons - check. Teacups and saucers - check. Gin - check. Mixtapes for africa - check. Basically, perfection.



The undercut that Leigh got given by her hairdresser. Apparently it's all a conspiracy aimed at making Leigh into a lesbian and outing her simultaneously.



Evan kissing Hayden.



Lei in a rocking dress.



Kath and Alan at a pint night at Arc



AND FINALLY

Aaron Hawkins got his old wallet back from Bath St and it had this wee gem in it...

07 March 2006

My painful knee saga

A couple of weeks ago, I was riding my bike home after a shift at the good ol' Cock and Bull in South Dunedin and then I attempted to go over the curb. Now here's the great bit - instead of taking it at a safe angle, I was risky and took it at a realy close angle which in turn led to the bike wheel running along the gutter as I continued my momentuum onto the footpath.

Instinctively, I threw my knee out to break my really, really hard fall and in doing so, fucked my knee up rather badly. It hurts like crap. Has hurt like crap for weeks.

The most spectacular bruise appeared over the course of the next few days and I took loads of camera photos of it.

So here they are! My kneeeeee...